“You regret 100% of the shots you don’t take.” – Me, paraphrasing Wayne Gretzky

When I was out shooting street photographer earlier this year, I had a fantastic shot coming right at me.  It was this tough looking guy, wearing tough looking clothes, with a hard look on his face.  He was carrying a huge bouquet of yellow Gerber daisies.

I wanted this shot.  I needed this shot.  I didn’t get it.

I was doing something dumb.  I was carrying around too many cameras.  I’m a collector and I love to use as many of my cameras as I can, but this was dumb.

I had Yashica GSN in my hand that was loaded with Tri-X and I wanted that shot in color.  My Olympus XA that was loaded with color film was in my bag and while I was reaching for it, he walked on by.

Why didn’t I just take the shot?  It would’ve been an impactful image in black and white.  It might have been my best street image to date.  My striving for perfect (in my mind) cost me the shot.

I’ve vowed to never let that happen again.  I’m taking one camera, one lens, one film when I shoot street.  I’m going to just stuff my pockets with film and not even carry a bag because that will just draw attention.  If I shoot digital, I’ll stick my spare battery in my pocket and go.  I need to learn to work with what I have at hand and not try to do everything at once.

Simple is beautiful.  Simple is powerful.  Simple gets the job done.

“You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”  Mr Gretzky is right.  You miss them, and you regret them.

Leave a Reply

