Yashica Electro 35 Pad Of Death Repair

I’ve copied this over from my old blog.  This post is from 2010.  I have since gotten another GSN and have it working.

 

This is how it went down.

I took off the battery check button plate.

From Yashica Repair

Taped the button in so I wouldn’t lose it.

From Yashica Repair

The ASA dial wasn’t coming off without a fight. I had to heat it with a soldering iron to loosen it up.

From Yashica Repair

Getting it to move finally.

From Yashica Repair

An indispensable tool.

From Yashica Repair

Taking off the film advance lever.

From Yashica Repair
From Yashica Repair

The rewind knob.

From Yashica Repair
From Yashica Repair

Rewind knob removed.

From Yashica Repair

Slightly out of sequence, the screws that hold the top cover on.

From Yashica Repair

The top cover removed.

From Yashica Repair

You can’t really see it but under there is the “Pad of Death”.

From Yashica Repair

Removing the screws so I can get the lens assembly off.

From Yashica Repair

The bottom removed. Notice all the little pieces of the disintegrated pad.

From Yashica Repair
From Yashica Repair

The skin all flayed.

From Yashica Repair

What’s left of the pad.

From Yashica Repair

This will be continued, most likely Saturday. While I was taking it apart a wire broke that went to the lens assembly so I’m going to have to take it apart further and solder it back together.

Maybe these pictures will help you if you’re doing a “Pad of Death” replacement. If you are, please check out the guide at the Yashica Guy’s page because it’s what I was going by. Many thanks to The Yashica Guy and the fine folks over Rangefinder Forum for all of the great info there as well. Most of all, thanks to my beautiful and talented wife, Ami, for taking 99% of these pictures. I really appreciate her patience.

Leave a Reply

